2021 Booksellers' Best Award

A Published Authors’ Contest for Books Published in 2020 Sponsored by Greater Detroit Romance Writers of America

Co-Chairs: A.J. Norris, Tana Jenkins, Cynthia Anne Hurt, Gin Sun

Send questions to booksellersbestaward@gmail.com

 Our contest is closed.

The Booksellers’ Best Award is a prestigious contest for published romance authors in 11 romance categories, plus the Patti Shenberger ‘Best First Book’ award. All books are judged by booksellers or librarians from across the United States. Perks and prizes include a uniquely designed award for each winner, a reception for all finalists at RWA National conference where winners are announced, and winners’ names and book covers posted on the GDRWA website – just to name a few.

Each entry is judged by three judges who answer the following questions.

  1. Is the resolution of the romance emotionally satisfying and optimistic?

  2. Does the entry fall within the category description?

Two or more ‘NO’ answers will result in disqualification of the entry. In addition, each book is rated with a score of 1-5 in the following areas: Technique, Mechanics, Storytelling, Goal / Motivation / Conflict, and Overall Impression. Scores from all five categories are tallied for a total score. Learn more below!


Enter Our Contest!

Our 2021 contest opens for entries, October 1. For more information about the rules, please visit our “Enter Our Contest” page.


Become A Judge

Are you a bookseller or librarian and you’d like to judge books entered in the Booksellers’ Best Award contest? Please click below to sign up.


Current & Past Winners

Hundreds of books are entered into our contest every year by first-time authors and national best selling authors alike. Check out the winners here.